4-6 July

aoifebarrett.blogspot.com

I found it a bit hard to concentrate on work the last few days; I think I felt a bit of an overload on art after the weekend in London! Because of that my installation work came to a stand still this week and it was mostly just print work I did.  Below are some images of the printing process:

Making a relief plate from mount board

The finished plate

Running the plate and paper through the press to get a print

Another layer of printing

the work station!

And then, back to John Street:

I managed to tear myself away from printing for a while to do some reading and research and came across a few interesting essays and quotes. One of these essays was on the ‘Symbolism of Place’  (http://www.symbolism.org/writing/books/sp/home.html) . It talked about how ,for the ‘ancient man’ all the natural places of the world were filled with symbolism.  For example the junlgle having a primitive symbolic aspect because our first ancestors, the hunters and gatherers,  would have seeked sheltered in the jungles and forests. The  forest is also one of the greatest symbols of place change and a threshold symbol.

  

  

  

 

