I struggled a bit with my work this week because I wasn’t too sure what I had achieved so far or what direction I was going to go in.  I started out the week by moving work around the space to change things a bit.  I wanted to look at everything I had done so far and re-evaluate my goals for the residency.  I decided to keep making and drawing and printing and layering these pieces on top of eachother on the wall and then drawing on top of these again so that certain things become hidden from the viewer and in the hopes that certain ideas would jump out.

Day 10 and 11: Some quick drawings.

When this didn’t work I stood back from the ‘making’ and did some reading and research for a while.  I had a look at the work of Lynne Allen ( http://www.lynneallen.com/gallery.html ), who makes these beautiful objects out of works on paper. I thought some more about turning my printed works into 3D structures or objects such as archaeological artefacts or the tools the nomad would have travelled with.

“Ita ta Win” Bag
Approximately 6″ x 4″ x 3″
Lithograph, 19th century goatskin document, linen thread
2003

This brought me back to thinking about my installation work and how I would like to develop The Tent.  I’ve though about putting a fan or a pump inside it so it bellows in and out.  The movement bringing it to life and evoking its lost memories.  I also thought about building a giant sand box and having the tent in the middle making it a bit more fun and playful as well as linking it with the archaeological concepts.

Day 11: Studio shot

Some more paper cut-outs!

Day 12 The Tipi

Day 12: I changed my again today! After looking at my work I decided ‘ the tipi’ was coming out the strongest so that’s what I’m going to focus on and develop. I’ll start off making a few prints from woodcuts and collographs prints and go from there! Better luck next week!

Day 12: The window

