The Tuesday evening youth group seem to enjoy having their portraits on the window in John’s Street! I asked them if they would think about their portrait animations and bring in anything that may be relevant or that they’d want to include in the animations for the next week.

The Wednesday morning animation group had a break this week, Teresa came in, and also some ladies from the “5 to 6 Kilkenny Women’s Art Group”, which is an all inclusive arts project for women, they have their own house which is their studio and workshop space. 

This was more of a casual meeting rather than a structured workshop. I explained what I was teaching in the animation workshops and they all took part in both the chalk and drawing “collaborative animations” as a taster.

The SOS group called in again on Thursday with two different groups, again this wasn’t a structured workshop. The lads got stuck into the collaborative chalk drawing and everyone seemed to enjoy the visit.

Later that Thursday I had arranged to go KCAT  in Callan to talk to Declan and see the animations they had made there. KCAT is an open access arts and life long learning initiative and runs art and theatre courses, exhibits and performs locally and  internationally.

Declan runs a three week animation module at KCAT. Andrew Pike one of the studio artists showed me his epic cut out animation and I also got to see Aisling’s beautiful horse animation,  Aisling is in the Wednesday morning animation group, and although I knew animation came very naturally to her, this film really blew me away.

I also picked up a chair from Jean at KCAT, all will be revealed in a future post!

