After the weekend the new wall still needed some work on, filling, sanding and painting and Franziska, who is on work experience and works upstairs in the arts office helped me out with this.


Thursday ended up being a very busy day full of visitors.

First of all the Kilkenny SOS group pictured above were on a day out in Kilkenny and called in and participated in both the collaborative chalk and pen drawing animation. Then there was a constant stream of visitors all contributing to the animations that afternoon.

Ooops caught on camera, well you can’t just let everyone else have all the fun, once you are on the blackboard its hard to get off! Took by Caroline Finn, Niamh’s sister, I’l make sure I get her back with a photo when she’s not expecting it!

During my fourth week I started to build up the second character in the front room. The materials I am using are what I used to use when building structures in parades, economic and quick to use, hydrodare (water pipe) and paper mache.

The stucture goes up quick enough, but its the painting that takes the time. This face took me nearly a week to paint, I find I can only really paint faces first thing in the morning, after about 9am the magic seems to go and it becomes a struggle.

I did decide to go for the glitter on her top in the end, I’m glad as it was the right descision.

I love the bread van in this photo above.

