I had contacted the Waterford open water swimming society and arranged to meet Claire and her friends at Clonea Beach on Sunday morning for a swim. It is a beautiful beach in Waterford and I was looking forward to my second water trial out with the ‘Hero’ camera.

Even as I upload these stills from the film I am really excited by the images. I just hope that I will be able to do something worthwhile with them, they are really beautiful.


With this camera you can’t actually see what you are recording, so its not until you get back to a computer then you have to sift through hours of footage. I am new to using film as a medium and am learning fast, I reckon one of the secrets is, don’t shoot hours of footage….


We swam about 1km, but I was a fair bit  behind them, it was only after when we  were chatting they told me that they were training to swim The Channel in relay in August in togs, relay as in the race style, not as in really! That is very impressive.

After seeing the footage from my cameras 2nd trip out I know that I have to try to keep it in one position for longer, and also to stop ajusting it, as my hands were constanly in the shots.

The films I am making are research, it’s like film sketches. At this point I don’t know what the end product will be but I do know that I am very excited about this camera and the possibilities, once I get the hang of how to use it properly!

