I started my residency yesterday in no. 72 John Street Kilkenny. I was welcomed by Mary, Niamh and Cathy all of whom manage the Arts office in no.72.  After Niamh showed me around the space and I unloaded a bootload of clay, paper, tools, brushes and notebooks I started right away to work on the window space. The window space is an opportunity for me to work quickly through ideas and present them to the public.

The space is big, bigger than I am used to. I decided to set up three tables and spread them around the room and different projects are happening already.  It’s great to be able to stand back from the work, hop from table to table and idea to idea.

As part of the residency I am inviting people to come into the gallery and to make a tea bowl in this space. Initially my idea was to invite people to bring in something  personal  and place it in the gallery thereby creating a sacred or reflective  space- an altar of sorts. This  idea maybe revisited in the future. The traditions of tea and drinking tea are being explored in my residency.

