17th September

I was delighted to find that the arts office had most of the essential equipment any artist would need in a new space. They also supplied me with a projector, which I used to project previous motifs onto new canvases to work through ides and experiment, helping me discard some of that background noise and find the real path I wished to follow. This also meant I could continue my work after “office hours” at home using my laptop and project the adjustments onto the work the following day. It is important to mention the time-table, as I’m sure most artists don’t follow a strict 9 to 5.It was difficult for me to leave my work at five o’clock, but I believe this type of programme helps artists to work to deadlines, which helps in any professional career.

 But these are all good reasons to undertake a residency. It makes you work in a different form than you would normally. Different timetable, studio, county and the interaction with the public influenced my work greatly.  

Hugh McCarthy, Hysteria, 2007, Mixed Media on Canvas, 100cm x 100cm; courtesy Stone Gallery

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

