Monday, 10th December
I have two dogs Rosie and Soarsia; they are walked every morning, meaning every morning before going to the studio I have the opportunity to walk, think and reflect. I find this one of my most creative times as it allows thoughts to flow freely as I unconsciously take in my surroundings. We always walk the same woodland circuit so I am able to view the day to day changes as we move from one season to the next. This is transgression of the seasons has always been a source of inspiration.
At the same time as I was experimenting with the above fibres I was also photographing the wood lands of Castlecomer Demesne and documenting the changing moods and gradual decay, as Autumn transgressed into Winter. I then played around with some of the photographs and printed on thin sheets of abaca that had been beaten for 2hours.
The results were very pleasing as the combination of the images and the translucent papers, represented the fragility of the landscape I was walking through. The quality of soft November light and the crackling sound of leaves under foot also echoed the sample papers that I was creating in the studio. It was a combination of these morning walks and the research in the studio, that became the inspiration for the bigger pieces created during the residency.

