Monday, 12th November

As I mentioned above paper pulp can be made from any fibres that yield cellulose; at the beginning of the residency I imagined that I would be able to work with lots of fibres, I soon realize that the six weeks would just be taken up with preparation such as cutting, soaking and cooking unless I narrow the fibres down to three with a high cellulose content and long fibres, and concentrate on experimenting with beating times. Working with the knowledge that the more you beat a high cellulose fibre, the more the fibres will hydrate and absorb water, therefore when the fibres dry, they will shrink.
My research aims were to record and document this shrinkage and the effect on the papers, and then use the findings as the bases of my palette. (For samples of the process described below, refer to data folder.)

