Tuesday, 6th November

To begin with I was so overwhelmed with the idea that I had been given time to start experiment and create that I felt like a headless chicken – not sure where to start. As my backround training is first in Theatre, then linguistics I was alien to the concept that I was allowed to sit and think; I was putting myself under pressure to produce something immediately. I also found it very difficult to start a sketch book as I felt I had to be producing something of quantity. All this worry wasn’t helping the creative process!
A quick phone call to Mary Butler was re assuring and I made a start. I spent the first few days  moving the beater into the studio and setting up the space to enable me to carefully record and document the fibres I was working with, as the results would become my palette.

